Skip to content Skip to footer site map

Neil Burke to receive Honorary Diploma at St. Lawrence College


St. Lawrence College is pleased to announce that Neil Burke will receive an Honorary Diploma at its convocation ceremony at the Cornwall campus. Neil is among the seven recipients to receive this honour at convocation ceremonies in Cornwall, Brockville and Kingston this spring. The Cornwall campus convocations take place Friday, June 4 at 10:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. at Aultsville Hall. Neil Burke will be recognized at the morning ceremony.

Neil Burke is the president of Brookgate Investments Ltd. and previous owner and President of Brookshell Pontiac Buick Ltd. Neil has been honoured with numerous awards including Lifetime Business Achievement in 1999 and Executive of the year in 1994 by the Cornwall Chamber of Commerce. In 1992, he was the recipient of the Canadian Confederation Medal for community involvement.

A committed and dedicated volunteer, Neil is a tireless worker for the many causes he has become involved with over the years. In particular he has worked with the Cornwall Community Hospital, where he was a member of the ‘Our Hospital – Our Future Campaign Team’. He is also member of Team Cornwall, a community advocacy organization that promotes the City across Canada and beyond.

Neil served six years as a member of the St. Lawrence College Board of Governors and was also the Governor representative on the St. Lawrence College Foundation Board of Directors. He supported the St. Lawrence College Foundation where he served as a Director for three years.

A sports enthusiast, Neil is a former hockey coach in the Major Junior A level in Ontario.

"Honorary diplomas are the highest form of recognition that the college can bestow," said Chris Whitaker, president and CEO of St. Lawrence College. "They are awarded to individuals like Neil Burke, whose accomplishments are of such a high degree of excellence, that they can be held up as role models, and serve as an inspiration to our graduates, and the college community."

Other recipients this year are, Senator Roméo Dallaire in Brockville, Tammi Babcock, Daren Dougall, Jenna Lambert, Karen Sutherland, and John Wright in Kingston