Skip to content Skip to footer site map

Senator Roméo Dallaire to receive Honorary Diploma at St. Lawrence College


St. Lawrence College is pleased to announce that Senator Roméo Dallaire will receive an Honorary Diploma at its convocation ceremony at the Brockville campus. Senator Dallaire is among the eight recipients to receive this honour at convocation ceremonies in Brockville, Cornwall and Kingston this spring. Brockville campus convocation takes place Friday, May 28 at 2 pm at the Centennial Road Standard Church. More than 300 students will graduate from some 30 programs.

Lieutenant General the Honourable Roméo Dallaire, O.C., C.M.M., G.O.Q., M.S.C., C.D. was appointed to the Senate in 2005, following a distinguished career in the Canadian Forces. In 1993/1994 he commanded the United Nations Assistance Mission for Rwanda (UNAMIR) and authored Shake Hands With the Devil: The Failure of Humanity in Rwanda. Senator Dallaire has been awarded the Governor General’s Literary Award for
Non Fiction and numerous other international literary awards.

Since 1998, he has worked tirelessly to bring an understanding of post-traumatic disorder to the public and is a former Fellow of the Carr Centre for Human Rights Policy at Harvard University where he pursued research on conflict resolution and the use of child soldiers.

Senator Dallaire has travelled the globe advocating for a better approach to global security and stability. He has been the recipient of numerous honours and awards including the Officer of the Order of Canada, Grand Officer of the National Order of Quebec, and the Aegis Award for Genocide Prevention.

"Honorary diplomas are the highest form of recognition that the college can bestow," said Chris Whitaker, president and CEO of St. Lawrence College. "They are awarded to individuals like Senator Dallaire, whose accomplishments are of such a high degree of excellence, that they can be held up as role
models, and serve as an inspiration to our graduates, and the college community."

Other recipients this year are: Neil Burke in Cornwall; Tammi Babcock, Daren Dougall, Jenna Lambert, Karen Sutherland, and John Wright in Kingston.