Skip to content Skip to footer site map


 

Program Overview 

St. Lawrence College is offering students the opportunity to learn English from the comfort of their homes around the world. This online program allows students to access quality curricula on an e-learning platform and engage in live video conferencing with qualified ESL teachers in Canada. Benefits of the online program include:

  • Flexible schedule for online activities
  • Interactive live sessions to improve your skills quickly
  • Personalized learning to target your needs
  • Meet students from different cultures and learn about cross-cultural communication
  • Meet the English proficiency requirement for a college program (see requirement to progress below)
  • Improve your skills not only in English, but also the effective study skills
  • Save living costs while studying English online through a Canadian public college

Program Features:

  • 12-week intensive learning, focused on reading, writing, listening and speaking skills, and academic study skills
  • Live practice sessions (10 hours per week. Monday – Friday 7:00pm -9:00pm Toronto time. Convert to your time zone)
  • Teacher-guided online activities (10-15 hours per week on your own schedule)
  • One-on-one tutorials (2 hours per week interaction tailored to your needs)

English Café

English Café is a fun and relaxed way to learn more vocabulary and practice speaking skill. Mondays and Fridays from 8:00am - 9:00 am Toronto time, you can join the tutors and other students for great conversations.

Program Dates

Early bird Registration deadline: no application fee on or before August 3, 2020

Registration deadline: August 23, 2020

Orientation: September 9, 2020

12-week program start date: September 14, 2020 

12-week program end date: December 4, 2020

12-week English café: September 14 – December 4, 2020

 

Sample Timetable (Time zone in EST)

 

Monday

Tuesday

Wednesday

Thursday

Friday

Morning

English Café

 

One-on-one Tutorial

Self-study

Self-study

 

English Café

 

Afternoon

Self-study

 

Self-study

 

Self-study

One-on-one Tutorial

Self-study

 

Night

 

Live Class

Live Class

Live Class

Live Class

Live Class

 

English Level Requirement: The program accepts students with Intermediate and Advanced levels of English. To estimate your level, please go to learnatslc.com/esl for self-assessment (please note that the self-assessment result is not your final placement. We will arrange an online writing and speaking test after you apply).

 

Requirements to progress to the next level of study:

For students at Advanced level (English 125)
If you achieve 70% on the final grade, you are eligible to enter SLC Certificate and Diploma programs.

If you achieve 85%, you are eligible to enter Degree and Graduate Certificate programs.

For students at Intermediate Level (ENGLISH 120)
If you achieve 60% on the final grade, you are eligible to go to the next level.

Note the credential earned from this program is only one piece required for admission to academic programs. Students are still required to meet other admissions requirement to enter the academic program. Different programs may have different requirements. Please refer to the admissions requirement page at St. Lawrence College website for more information.

Registration Fee: $100 for new applicants

12-week Program Fee: $3,800 CAD

Optional 12-week English Café: $450 CAD

 

Registration Link: Please fill out this form to register. Application fee is waived if you register on or before August 3, 2020

 

Contact:

Africa: africa@sl.on.ca

Brazil: brasil@sl.on.ca

North China: china-north@sl.on.ca

South China: china-south@sl.on.ca

Colombia: colombia@sl.on.ca

Europe: europe@sl.on.ca

India: india@sl.on.ca

Malaysia: malaysia@sl.on.ca

Mexico/Central America: latinoamerica@sl.on.ca

Middle East & North Africa: mena@sl.on.ca

The Philippines: philippines@sl.on.ca

Russia, Ukraine and Central Asia: cis@sl.on.ca

South America: southamerica@sl.on.ca

South Korea: korea@sl.on.ca

Toronto & GTA: toronto@sl.on.ca

Turkey: turkey@sl.on.ca

Vietnam: vietnam@sl.on.ca